St Mary's Church
Bâtiments architecturauxÉglises et cathédrales
À propos
Durée : Une à deux heures
Suggérer des améliorations.
Améliorer cette page

Les meilleures façons de profiter des attractions proches

La région
Adresse
Contact direct :

4.0
4,0 sur 5 bulles1 avis
Excellent
0
Très bon
1
Moyen
0
Médiocre
0
Horrible
0

Geoff H
Cranbrook, UK12 195 contributions
4,0 sur 5 bulles
févr. 2020
For over seven centuries the Church of St Mary the Virgin has been at the centre of Ticehurst. It is well worth seeking out to discover its history. The earliest reference to Ticehurst is in 1180 where, in a document in relation to Combwell Priory, there is mention of "Adam, Presbyter de Tychenherste." Then, in 1197, the church at Ticehurst is confirmed as being under Hastings Priory. It is not known when the present church was constructed, as no records of its building have been found. However, from its architectural style, it is considered that most of it dates from the 14th century, although the base of the tower dates from the 13th century. The arms of the Etchingham family are found in the Church and, as the fifth Sir William de Echingham was responsible for rebuilding the Church of The Assumption of the Blessed Mary and St Nicholas at nearby Etchingham, it is more than likely that Sir William was responsible for similar work at Ticehurast. The Church is entered through a slightly pointed arch in late 14th century style into the porch where, on the east wall, there are Roll of Honour boards of all the village people who served in HM Forces during the First and Second World Wars. (The Memorial plaques to thos who fell during the Wars are inside the Church.) North of the chancel is the Courthope Chapel, named for the Courthope family. Many members of the family are buried in the now sealed family vault under the Chapel. The First World War Memorial on the north pillar of the chancel arch lists the names of the 62 men of Ticehurst who fell during that War. On the south pillar there is a Memorial to the 20 fatalities in the Second World War. The Font has a fine carved oak cover of 16th century origin. This cover has eight finely carved panels, four of which open.
Écrit le 26 février 2020
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
S'agit-il de votre page Tripadvisor ?
Êtes-vous le propriétaire ou le gestionnaire de cet établissement? En réclamant votre page gratuitement, vous pourrez, entre autres, commenter les avis et mettre à jour votre profil.
Prenez le contrôle de votre page

ST MARY'S CHURCH (Ticehurst): Ce qu'il faut savoir pour votre visite (avec photos)

Ticehurst : tout à voir et à faire
RestaurantsVolsLocations de vacancesRécits de voyageCroisièresVoitures de location